Nepali Congress

Nepali Congress is a political party of Nepal. The party is reform-oriented centrist party which was formed in 1947 as the Nepali National Congress. This party stands as the party to secure a majority to form a government in the first democratic election held in Nepal. The leaders of the party Prime Minister B.P. Koirala and the General Secretary Hora Prasad Joshi were then imprisoned and they sought sanctuary in India. The party was responsible as the leader of the Democratic Movement of 1950 which ended the existing Rana Dynasty and began a dawn for the commoners securing a place in the politics of the country. Nepali Congress party also led the democratic movement of Nepal that took place in 1990, at this time they partnered with leftist forces and helped in reestablishment of democracy ending monarchy completely.

The party runs on the ideology of socialism and social democracy. It is also affiliated to socialist international. Nepali Congress also worked with the two other leading political parties of the country-CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist to end Monarchy and instate democracy in 2005. Nepali Congress was the second largest party to secure the second highest seats in the CA during the Constituent Assembly Elections of 2008. Sushil Koirala was elected the president of the party in the 12th General Convention of the party which was held in September 2010 in Kathmandu. In 2007, September 25, the Nepali Congress (Democratic) and the Nepali Congress were unified. The leaders after the unification were Sher Bahadur Deuba and Krishna Prasad Bhattarai whereas late Girija Prasad Koirala was the president. After his demise, Sushil Koirala became the president of the Nepali Congress. Krishna Prasad Bhattarai is no longer affiliated to Nepali Congress.

During the election of 2008 for the Constituent Assembly Election, Nepali Congress attained half seats as many as the seats of the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) which made the party the second largest party in the Constituent Assembly in terms of seats. The party was elected for 110 seats out of total 575 seats. After the election, the party has worked with many other parties of the country including the Maoist party in which they also proposed Koirala as the first president after the elections. However, a different turn of events led to Koirala resigning from the party and Maoists forming the new government. Seven leaders of the political party Nepali Congress have been the former prime ministers of the country. Nepali Congress also has ten different sister organizations.


comments powered by Disqus